World News

What time is the BBC Prime Ministerial leaders debate tonight?

Mr Corbyn was set to join the other party leaders at the BBC Election Debate last week, but Rebecca Long-Bailey, the shadow business secretary, took his place. Mr Johnson did not take part either, sending instead the Conservative Party’s chief secretary to the Treasury Rishi Sunak.

Less than a week before polling day, Mr Johnson and Mr Corbyn are expected to take part in the BBC Prime Ministerial Debate in Southampton tonight. BBC Radio 4’s Today presenter Nick Robinson will be chairing this head-to-head debate.

Emma Barnett is also set to host a special edition of Question Time on Monday Dec 9, where an audience of under-30s will question a panel of politicians representing all seven parties. 

Prior to these events, on Nov 22 a BBC Question Time special took place on BBC One. Live from Sheffield, the programme saw leaders of the Conservatives, Labour, SNP and Liberal Democrat parties each answer questions from the audience for 30 minutes. 

Nigel Farage, the leader of the Brexit Party, and Jonathan Bartley, the Green Party co-leader, had the opportunity to discuss their views in two separate Question Time specials. 

What happened in the Channel 4 climate change debate?

All party leaders except Boris Johnson took part in Channel 4’s climate change debate.

The Prime Minister declined to take part in the debate, but it was understood that the Conservatives instead put forward Michael Gove. However, the broadcaster said that the former Environmental Secretary was not welcome on the basis that it was a leaders’ event.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button